Language selection

Search

Notice: The School's new learning platform is now available! Learn more about the new learning platform or create your account today.

2020 Manion Lecture - From Trudeau to Trudeau: Reflections from Jeffrey Simpson on 45 years in Canadian Public Affairs

Description

This year, the Manion Lecture looks back at over 40 years of Canadian public policy, asking how lessons from our past can help us build the future. The event features Jeffrey Simpson, veteran political commentator for The Globe and Mail, winner of the 2013 Donner Prize and Officer of the Order of Canada. Mr. Simpson has reported and commented on Canadian public policy since Pierre Elliott Trudeau was Prime Minister, and has written nine books on the topic.

Mr. Simpson's lecture was pre-recorded and includes archived footage. A live panel will follow the lecture via webcast.

2020 Manion Lecture: Program

Video: 2020 Manion Lecture

Learn more about the Manion Lecture.

National Student Paper Competition 2020

The first edition of the National Student Paper Competition in 2013 focused on ideas and research related to the Blueprint 2020 vision, an initiative launched by the Clerk of the Privy Council inviting federal public servants and Canadians to contribute their ideas on how to build public service excellence. Since then, the competition has continued to invite graduate students to submit their ideas for improving the federal public service and help shape Canada's future.

The Manion Lecture is one of the key platforms for the winners of the National Student Paper Competition. At the lecture, the winners are introduced to the federal public service and are given the opportunity to highlight their work.

This year, the winners of the 2018-2019 and 2019‑2020 competitions will be announced by Christiane Fox, Deputy Minister of Indigenous Services.

For more information about the National Student Paper Competition, visit the Institute of Public Administration of Canada's website.

Speaker

  • Jeffrey Simpson, Distinguished Canadian journalist

Panelists

  • Yaprak Baltacıoğlu, Chancellor of Carleton University, Professor of Public Policy, Munk School of Global Affairs and Public Policy, University of Toronto, and former Secretary of the Treasury Board Secretariat
  • Wayne Wouters, Strategic and policy advisor, McCarthy Tétrault, and former Clerk of the Privy Council Office

Moderator

  • Taki Sarantakis, President, Canada School of Public Service

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Conférence Manion 2020 - De Trudeau à Trudeau : réflexions de Jeffrey Simpson sur 45 ans d'affaires publiques au Canada

Description

Cette année, la Conférence Manion se penche sur plus de 40 ans de politique publique canadienne, en se demandant comment les leçons tirées peuvent nous aider à façonner l'avenir. L'événement met en vedette Jeffrey Simpson, commentateur politique chevronné du Globe and Mail, lauréat du prix Donner 2013 et officier de l'Ordre du Canada. M. Simpson fait des reportages sur les politiques publiques canadiennes en plus de les commenter depuis le règne de Pierre-Elliott Trudeau, en plus d'avoir écrit neuf livres sur le sujet.

L'allocution de M. Simpson a été préenregistrée et inclut des images d'archives. Elle sera suivie d'une table ronde présentée en direct par webdiffusion.

Conférence Manion 2020 : Programme

Vidéo : Conférence Manion 2020

Apprenez-en plus sur la Lecture Manion.

Concours national d'essais universitaires 2020

La première édition du Concours national d'essais universitaires en 2013 a mis l'accent sur les idées et la recherche liées à Au-delà de 2020, une initiative lancée par le greffier du Conseil privé qui invitait les fonctionnaires fédéraux et les Canadiens à formuler leurs points de vue sur la façon de renforcer l'excellence de la fonction publique. Depuis lors, le Concours invite toujours les étudiants diplômés à soumettre leurs idées pour améliorer la fonction publique fédérale et contribuer à façonner l'avenir du Canada.

La Conférence Manion est l'une des principales plateformes offertes aux gagnants du Concours national d'essais universitaires. Lors de cette conférence, les gagnants présentent leur œuvre devant les membres de la fonction publique fédérale.

Cette année, les gagnants des éditions 2018-2019 et 2019‑2020 seront annoncés par Christiane Fox, sous‑ministre des Services aux Autochtones.

Pour plus de détails sur le Concours national d'essais universitaires, visitez la page Web de l'événement sur le site de l'Institut d'administration publique du Canada.

Conférencier

  • Jeffrey Simpson, journaliste canadien réputé

Panélistes

  • Yaprak Baltacıoğlu, chancelière de l'Université Carleton, professeure en politiques publiques, École Munk des affaires internationales et politiques publiques, Université de Toronto, et ancienne secrétaire du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor
  • Wayne Wouters, conseiller en planification stratégique, McCarthy Tétrault et ancien greffier du Conseil privé

Animateur

  • Taki Sarantakis, président, École de la fonction publique du Canada

Date de modification :