Language selection

Search

Career Boot Camp: Taking your Career Path Virtual

Career Boot Camp

Across government, virtual work has become a new reality, forcing public servants to adopt the Beyond2020 mindsets and behaviours. As a result, employees are learning to leverage this new landscape, and cultivate their career with more possibilities than ever before.

Join us as we partner with the Federal Youth Network, for this year's Career Boot Camp. Choose from a variety of sessions, which will provide you with the tools you need to take charge of your career in this new virtual environment.


What I Wish I Knew at the Beginning of my Career

Public servants can find it overwhelming to maneuver through Canada's largest employer, with its separate employers, interchanges, secondments, and other agreements. During this session, guests will explain what makes the core public service unique and how moving within, out of and into it, can be as easy as a few signatures.

Date, time and language:
January 26, 2021 | 10:00 am to 11:00 am (ET) | French
January 26, 2021 | 11:30 am to 12:30 pm (ET) | English
Location:
Zoom

Setting the Stage for your Virtual Career in the Public Service

There is no set path for a successful career, as each employee brings their individual strengths and aspirations to every role. This introductory session will explore the vast number of opportunities that exist for public servants, and share some of the various roles that exist across disciplines. Participants will leave this session with an understanding of how the current virtual context has opened the door to endless career possibilities for all of us, regardless of geography.

Date and time:
January 26, 2021 | 1:30 pm to 3:00 pm (ET)
Language:
Bilingual, with interpretation in both official languages
Location:
This event will be delivered virtually. A link to the live broadcast will be provided to registered participants.

Transferring your Most Valuable Skills to the Public Service

Different hiring processes use different terminology for the skills they are looking for in their candidates. It's possible you have more experience than you think you do, but it's all a matter of translating those experience factors into the appropriate government language. During this workshop, participants will explore which skills from previous private-sector roles, volunteer activities, and even the most seemingly meaningless tasks can translate into valuable traits sought after by the public services' top employers.

Date and time:
January 26, 2021 | 3:30 pm to 4:30 pm (ET)
Language:
Bilingual
Location:
Zoom

Skills Needed for Careers of the Future

As technology advances, the skills that Artificial Intelligence cannot replace are the empathy and human connections that we use to design client-centred services, and in our relationship-building with our colleagues. We will all need to sharpen our listening, connecting, and adapting skills as we embrace the digital mindset. Join this panel for a discussion on people skills and how to improve yours to make you a valuable asset to any organization.

Date and time:
January 27, 2021 | 1:30 pm to 3:00 pm (ET)
Language:
Bilingual, with interpretation in both official languages
Location:
This event will be delivered virtually. A link to the live broadcast will be provided to registered participants.

Engaging an Audience Through Storytelling

Everyone has a story to tell and a message worth hearing, but not everyone has mastered how to engage an audience and transmit passion through words. As the public service starts to place a heavier emphasis on all things digital, top employers are going to seek out candidates with the invaluable skill of engaging others. From sharing a simple interview scenario, to writing a blog on your most recent project, this session will teach participants how to take an idea and transmit its importance to any audience for full engagement.

Date, time and language:
January 27, 2021 | 10:00 am to 11:00 am (ET) | French
January 27, 2021 | 11:30 am to 12:30 am (ET) | English
Location:
Zoom

Intentional Communication in a Virtual World

Communication is more than just the words you use, but rather a combination of your tone and other non-verbal cues that others interpret as part of the message. With many now working remotely, we may forget that others are still reading the body language that is captured on camera, and the tone used in teleconferences. During this session, participants will learn about the nuances to which we attach meaning and how to use that knowledge to your advantage in communication with others.

Date and time:
January 27, 2021 | 3:30 pm to 4:30 pm (ET)
Language:
Bilingual
Location:
Zoom

Leading with Connections: Get Involved, Create and Maintain a Network, Leverage Connections to Work More Efficiently

Successful public servants know that collaboration is the key to working effectively and efficiently—and thus increasing their career opportunities. The Federal Youth Network supports and encourages networking and understands that for many, the concept is still abstract. This session will provide you with tips and tangible tools to develop your network and maintain it for the remainder of your career.

Date and time:
February 1, 2021 | 1:30 pm to 3:00 pm (ET)
Language:
Bilingual, with interpretation in both official languages
Location:
This event will be delivered virtually. A link to the live broadcast will be provided to registered participants.

First Impressions in a Virtual World

First impressions matter, even in a virtual landscape. Whether it's Twitter, Facebook or LinkedIn, social media is becoming one of the most commonly used tools for employers to seek out new talent. But what does the information on those platforms mean to those who are potentially hiring you? Learn to put your best foot forward in the virtual world to enable you to expand your network with ease and be the kind of colleague others feel comfortable approaching.

Date, time and language:
February 1, 2021 | 10:00 am to 11:00 am (ET) | French
February 1, 2021 | 11:30 am to 12:30 pm (ET) | English
Location:
Zoom

People Helping People

Having a reverse mentor is identified as a key behaviour in the Beyond2020 framework but many of us don't have a mentor, let alone feel confident in mentoring someone else. This session will demystify the complexity of mentoring relationships and provide learners with tangible tips, such as approaching mentors and efficiently managing a mentoring discussion. We will also unveil some new government initiatives that relate to mentoring at all levels.

Date and time:
February 3, 2021 | 1:30 pm to 3:00 pm (ET)
Language:
Bilingual, with interpretation in both official languages
Location:
This event will be delivered virtually. A link to the live broadcast will be provided to registered participants.

Ask-a-Mentor Session

Are you looking for advice? Do you have questions but aren't sure who to ask? This is your chance to virtually meet with public servants from various departments informally and get answers to your questions.

Date and time:
February 3, 2021, 3:30 pm to 4:30 pm (ET)
Language:
Bilingual
Location:
To be confirmed

Features

Mobile App: Reconciliation: A Starting Point

Download the "Reconciliation: A Starting Point" app to access a wealth of information on Indigenous Peoples in Canada, key historical events, and reconciliation.

Indigenous Learning Series

Discover Canada's shared history with First Nations, Inuit and Métis Peoples.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about? (required)
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Camp de carrières : Parcours professionnel en mode virtuel

Camp de carrières

Tout le gouvernement s'est maintenant mis au travail virtuel – nouvelle réalité oblige – forçant les fonctionnaires à adopter les mentalités et les comportements d'Au-delà de 2020. Ainsi, les employés apprennent à exploiter cette nouveauté et à faire évoluer leur carrière grâce au nombre sans précédent de nouvelles possibilités.

Cette année pour le Camp de carrières, nous nous associons au Réseau des jeunes fonctionnaires fédéraux. Joignez-vous à nous! Une gamme de séances vous est offerte, chacune traitant d'outils requis pour prendre sa carrière en main en cette nouvelle ère virtuelle.


Si j'avais su au début de ma carrière

Les fonctionnaires peuvent trouver exténuant de travailler pour le plus gros employeur du Canada, avec ses employeurs distincts, les échanges, les détachements et autres ententes. Au cours de cette séance, les invités expliqueront ce qui rend la fonction publique centrale unique en son genre, et comment quelques simples signatures peuvent permettre d'y entrer, d'en sortir et d'y circuler.

Date, heure et langue :
26 janvier 2021| de 10 h à 11 h (HE) | Français
26 janvier 2021| de 11 h 30 h à 12 h 30 | Anglais
Lieu :
Zoom

Préparer le terrain pour sa carrière virtuelle dans la fonction publique

Il n'y a pas de voie déjà tracée pour réussir sa carrière, car chaque personne apporte ses propres forces et aspirations à son poste. Cette séance d'introduction explore le nombre remarquable de parcours que peuvent suivre les fonctionnaires, et certains des différents rôles qui existent dans toutes les disciplines. À la fin de la séance, les participants comprendront comment le contexte virtuel actuel a ouvert la porte à des possibilités de carrière infinies pour les fonctionnaires, indépendamment du lieu géographique.

Date et heure :
26 janvier 2021| de 13 h 30 h à 15 h (HE)
Langue :
Bilingue, avec interprétation en langues officielles
Lieu :
Événement virtuel. Un lien à la diffusion en direct sera fourni après l'inscription.

Vos compétences les plus précieuses au service de la fonction publique

La terminologie utilisée dans divers processus d'embauche diffère selon les compétences recherchées. Il est possible que vous ayez plus d'expérience que vous ne le pensez, mais tout est question de la traduire en langue gouvernementale appropriée. Au cours de cet atelier, les participants examineront quelles compétences acquises dans des rôles du secteur privé, lors d'activités bénévoles et même en exécutant des tâches que l'on pourrait croire insignifiantes, peuvent se traduire par des caractéristiques utiles que recherchent les principaux employeurs de la fonction publique.

Date et heure :
26 janvier 2021| de 15 h 30 h à 16 h 30 (HE)
Langue :
Bilingue
Lieu :
Zoom

Les compétences nécessaires pour les carrières de demain

Les progrès technologiques le confirment, l'intelligence artificielle ne peut remplacer l'empathie et les relations humaines, deux compétences fort utiles pour concevoir des services axés sur la clientèle et établir des relations avec les collègues. Tous devront aiguiser leurs capacités d'écoute, de communication et d'adaptation pour s'approprier cette culture numérique. Venez discuter des compétences relationnelles et des façons d'améliorer les vôtres pour que votre organisation ne puisse plus se passer de vous!

Date et heure :
27 janvier 2021| de 13 h 30 h à 15 h (HE)
Langue :
Bilingue, avec interprétation en langues officielles
Lieu :
Événement virtuel. Un lien à la diffusion en direct sera fourni après l'inscription.

Capter son public par l'art de raconter une histoire

Tout le monde a une histoire à raconter et un message qui vaut la peine d'être entendu, mais nous ne savons pas tous comment nous y prendre pour interpeller l'auditoire et transmettre notre passion par les mots. Alors que la fonction publique mise désormais davantage sur tout ce qui est numérique, les plus grands employeurs voudront des candidats capables de communiquer avec les autres, une compétence inestimable. De la simple lecture d'un scénario d'entrevue à la rédaction d'un blogue sur un projet récent, les participants apprendront à transmettre l'importance d'une idée et à capter l'intérêt de tout genre de public.

Date, heure et langue :
27 janvier 2021| de 10 h à 11 h (HE) | Français
27 janvier 2021| de 11 h 30 h à 12 h 30 (HE) | Anglais
Lieu :
Zoom

Communication intentionnelle dans un monde virtuel

communication ne se limite pas simplement aux mots; c'est plutôt une combinaison du ton et d'autres indices non verbaux que l'auditoire interprète comme faisant partie du message. Beaucoup travaillent maintenant à distance et il est facile d'oublier que les interlocuteurs lisent encore le langage corporel capté par la caméra et saisissent le ton utilisé lors des téléconférences. Au cours de cette séance, les participants apprendront à discerner les nuances et à utiliser ces connaissances à leur avantage dans leur communication.

Date et heure :
27 janvier 2021| de 15 h 30 h à 16 h 30 (HE)
Langue :
Bilingue
Lieu :
Zoom

Des relations qui permettent d'évoluer : créer et entretenir un réseau, faire jouer ses relations pour travailler plus efficacement

Les fonctionnaires qui ont du succès savent que la collaboration est la clé d'un travail fructueux, et donc du foisonnement des perspectives d'emploi. Le Réseau des jeunes fonctionnaires fédéraux promeut et encourage une culture axée sur les relations et comprend que pour beaucoup, le concept est encore abstrait. Cette séance vous fournira une multitude de conseils et d'outils concrets qui vous aideront à élargir vos réseaux, et à les préserver tout au long de votre carrière.

Date et heure :
1er février 2021| de 13 h 30 h à 15 h (HE)
Langue :
Bilingue, avec interprétation en langues officielles
Lieu :
Événement virtuel. Un lien à la diffusion en direct sera fourni après l'inscription.

La première impression virtuelle

La première impression compte, même dans un univers virtuel. Twitter, Facebook ou LinkedIn, autant de plateformes que les employeurs consultent couramment pour rechercher de nouveaux talents. Mais que signifie l'information qui s'y trouve aux yeux des recruteurs? Découvrez comment présenter le meilleur de vous-même dans le monde virtuel afin d'élargir facilement votre réseau et de mettre vos collègues à l'aise pour vous aborder.

Date, heure et langue :
1er février 2021| de 10 h à 11 h | Français
1er février 2021| de 11 h 30 h à 12 h 30 (HE) | Anglais
Lieu :
Zoom

L'entraide

Le mentorat inversé est l'un des comportements cibles du cadre Au-delà de 2020, mais nous n'avons pas tous la chance d'avoir du mentorat, et encore moins d'être assez confiants pour en offrir. Cette séance démystifiera la complexité des relations de mentorat, et les participants recevront des conseils tangibles sur la façon d'approcher une personne qui offre du mentorat et de diriger efficacement une discussion de mentorat. De nouvelles initiatives gouvernementales portant sur le mentorat à tous les niveaux seront également dévoilées.

Date et heure :
3 février 2021| de 13 h 30 h à 15 h (HE)
Langue :
Bilingue, avec interprétation en langues officielles
Lieu :
Événement virtuel. Un lien à la diffusion en direct sera fourni après l'inscription.

Séance de questions avec un mentor

Vous êtes à la recherche de conseils? Vous avez des questions, mais vous ne savez pas à qui les poser? C'est l'occasion de rencontrer virtuellement et de façon informelle des fonctionnaires de différents ministères et d'obtenir des réponses à vos questions.

Date et heure :
3 février 2021 | de 15 h 30 h à 16 h 30 (HE)
Langue :
Bilingue
Lieu :
À confirmer

En vedette

Appli mobile « La réconciliation : un point de départ »

Téléchargez l'appli « La réconciliation : un point de départ » pour accéder à une mine d'informations sur les peuples autochtones du Canada, des événements historiques et la réconciliation.

Série d'apprentissage sur les questions autochtones

Découvrez l'histoire commune du Canada avec les Premières nations, les Inuits et les Métis.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire? (obligatoire)
Date de modification :