Language selection

Search

Notice: The School's new learning platform is now available! Learn more about the new learning platform or create your account today.

Combatting Misinformation and Disinformation with Artificial Intelligence

Description

Every minute, there are at least 98,000 tweets posted, 60 million emails sent, 600 YouTube videos uploaded; 270, 000 texts sent every second and 23 billion texts sent per day. Online sources allow many people and organizations to find and share information. Yet, how do we decipher if the information is accurate, misleading or biased? Only 21% of Canadians verify the accuracy of the information they find online.

This event will further probe the concepts of misinformation and disinformation and show how artificial intelligence, machine learning and other digital technologies can be used for good, to tackle and prevent misinformation and disinformation. Experts across the public service, private sector and academia will share their stories and best practices.

Participants will learn about the challenges and risks they face when consuming information, and how to use artificial intelligence and other digital tools to distill reliable data and evidence that impact decision-making. This aligns with the Government of Canada's efforts to support a healthy digital information society that includes building citizen resilience against misinformation and disinformation.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Avis : La nouvelle plateforme d'apprentissage de l'École est maintenant accessible! Apprenez-en plus sur la nouvelle plateforme d'apprentissage de l'École ou créez votre compte dès aujourd'hui.

Combattre la mésinformation et la désinformation grâce à l'intelligence artificielle

Description

Chaque minute, au moins 98 000 messages Twitter sont publiés, 60 millions de courriels sont envoyés, 600 vidéos YouTube sont téléchargées et, chaque seconde, 270 000 textos sont envoyés, pour un total de 23 milliards de textos envoyés par jour. Des ressources en ligne permettent à de nombreuses personnes et organisations de trouver et de partager de l'information. Mais comment faire pour vérifier si l'information est exacte, erronée ou biaisée? Seulement 21 % des Canadiens et Canadiennes vérifient l'exactitude des renseignements trouvés en ligne.

Dans le cadre de la Série sur la confiance de l'École, cet événement examinera en profondeur la mésinformation et la désinformation et comment l'intelligence artificielle, l'apprentissage automatique et d'autres technologies numériques peuvent servir à de bonnes causes et à prévenir et enrayer la désinformation et la mésinformation. Des spécialistes de la fonction publique, du secteur privé et du milieu universitaire feront part de leurs témoignages et de leurs conseils.

Les participants et participantes en apprendront davantage sur les enjeux et les risques auxquels ils et elles sont exposés, et sur la façon d'exploiter l'intelligence artificielle et d'autres outils numériques pour filtrer les données fiables et les informations qui appuient la prise de décision.  Ceci s'aligne avec les efforts du gouvernement du Canada en ce qui concerne le soutient d'une société de l'information saine, édifiant la résilience des citoyens et des citoyennes face à la désinformation et à la mésinformation.


Date de modification :