Learning path for managers and supervisors of students working in a virtual environment during COVID-19 pandemic

The COVID-19 pandemic has required you to adapt your management approach and supervision strategies. The situation is changing rapidly and most of the work is being done virtually.

The students on your teams are valuable strategic allies in the Government of Canada's fight against COVID-19 and as we organize our economic recovery efforts.

The Canada School of Public Service has online courses, events and other resources to support you in managing students in the coming weeks. These learning opportunities cover the essential topics of welcoming, integrating and supervising students in a virtual work environment. They are designed for both new and experienced public service managers and supervisors.

Management of virtual teams

Building a strong team is challenging enough when all of your team members work in the same place. The task can be even more complex in the case of a virtual team.

The following learning opportunities will help you identify best practices in remote management and teach you how to build and work with effective teams.

COVID-19 and mental health in the workplace

The ongoing COVID-19 crisis is having a profound effect on Canadians across the country, including federal public servants. As a manager or supervisor, it is essential that you make sure your employees are feeling well.

Listed below are a series of job aids on mental health. They were designed to assist managers in properly managing psychosocial risk in the workplace and creating a psychologically healthy work environment. The job aids cover each of the 13 psychosocial risk factors defined by the National Standard of Canada for Psychological Health and Safety in the Workplace.

Mental Health Job Aids for Managers: Psychosocial Factors

Communication and collaboration

A high-performing team, whether virtual or not, is characterized by good communication, effective collaboration and a high level of trust, even when all team members work remotely and have never met in person.

This learning opportunity addresses these important aspects of managing your team.

Onboarding of new employees

Managers are key to the success of employee integration programs. A successful integration program not only improves staff acclimatization and productivity, it also significantly reduces turnover, as new employees are motivated and feel they have an important contribution to make.

This online course provides information on your unique role and highlights the benefits to you of successfully integrating new hires.

Job aids for virtual teams

This series of job aids will help you in the day-to-day management of your virtual team. A variety of products are available, including quick reference tools, checklists, decision trees and worksheets.

Available soon

The School continues to create learning opportunities and tools to support you during the COVID-19 pandemic. Please check the Learning catalogue from time to time to stay up to date on these new products.


Features

COVID19

Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Updates for employees on COVID-19, telework, advisories, messages and resources to share.
Cyber Security

Cyber Security Awareness MonthNew

This year, Cyber Security Awareness Month is a time to appreciate our devices. Move over, dogs. This October, our devices are our new best friends.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:
Enter your email if you would like a reply:
Date modified:

Parcours d'apprentissage pour les gestionnaires et les superviseurs d'étudiants qui travaillent dans un environnement virtuel (COVID-19)

Le contexte actuel de la pandémie de COVID-19 vous oblige à adapter votre approche et vos stratégies de gestion et de supervision. La situation évolue rapidement et le travail se déroule majoritairement dans un environnement virtuel.

Les étudiants représentent des alliés stratégiques précieux au sein de votre équipe et peuvent vous appuyer alors que le gouvernement du Canada poursuit sa lutte contre la COVID-19 et organise ses efforts de reprise économique.

Pour vous appuyer dans la gestion des étudiants au cours des prochaines semaines, l'École de la fonction publique du Canada vous suggère des cours en ligne, des événements et d'autres ressources. Destinées aux gestionnaires et aux superviseurs de la fonction publique, qu'ils soient nouveaux ou chevronnés, ces occasions d'apprentissage abordent des thèmes essentiels pour accueillir, intégrer et superviser des étudiants dans un environnement virtuel.

Gestion d'une équipe virtuelle

Il n'est pas simple de constituer une équipe solide lorsque tous ses membres travaillent au même endroit. La tâche peut s'avérer un défi encore plus complexe lorsqu'il s'agit d'une équipe virtuelle.

Les occasions d'apprentissage suivantes vous permettront de découvrir les meilleures pratiques de gestion à distance et d'apprendre comment constituer une équipe efficace et travailler avec elle.

La COVID-19 et la santé mentale en milieu de travail

La crise actuelle de la COVID-19 affecte profondément les Canadiens dans tout le pays, y compris les fonctionnaires fédéraux. En tant que gestionnaire ou superviseur, il est essentiel de vous assurer que vos employés vont bien.

Voici une série d'outils sur la santé mentale, conçus pour aider les gestionnaires à bien gérer les facteurs de risque psychosociaux et à créer un milieu de travail sain sur le plan psychologique. Chaque outil porte sur l'un des 13 facteurs de risque psychosociaux définis dans la Norme nationale du Canada sur la santé et la sécurité psychologiques en milieu de travail.

Outils de santé mentale pour les gestionnaires : Facteurs psychosociaux

Communication et collaboration

Une équipe performante, qu'elle soit virtuelle ou non, se caractérise par une bonne communication, une collaboration efficace et de solides liens de confiance, même lorsque les membres de l'équipe travaillent tous à distance et qu'ils ne se sont jamais rencontrés en personne.

L'occasion d'apprentissage suivante aborde ces aspects importants dans la gestion de votre équipe.

Intégration des nouveaux employés

Les gestionnaires jouent un rôle clé dans la réussite des programmes d'intégration des employés. Un programme d'intégration performant favorise l'acclimatation et la productivité du personnel, en plus de réduire considérablement le taux de roulement, car les nouveaux employés sont motivés et sentent que leur contribution est importante.

Le cours en ligne ci-après vous présente un portrait du rôle unique que vous jouez et souligne les avantages que vous tirerez d'une bonne intégration des nouveaux employés.

Outils de travail pour les équipes virtuelles

Voici une série d'outils de travail qui vous aideront à gérer votre équipe virtuelle au quotidien. Divers types d'outils vous sont proposés, notamment des aide-mémoire, des listes de vérification, des arbres décisionnels et des feuilles de travail.

À venir prochainement

L'École continue de créer des occasions d'apprentissage et des outils pour vous appuyer pendant la pandémie de COVID‑19. Veuillez consulter régulièrement notre catalogue pour rester au fait des nouveautés.


En vedette

COVID19

Renseignements à l'intention des employés du gouvernement du Canada : maladie à coronavirus (COVID‑19)

Mise à jour à l'intention des employés sur COVID‑19, télétravail, avis, messages et ressources à partager.

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissage

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissageNouveau

Ressources d'apprentissage pour les fonctionnaires au courant de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire :
Veuillez entrer votre courriel si vous souhaitez une réponse :
Date de modification :