Digitization in the Government of Canada

Digitization of the Government of Canada

Description: Why building a successful digital model for the Canadian government is a necessity filled with exciting opportunities.

Date: June 11, 2018

Duration: 00:04:46

Resolution: HD/720 (90.1 Mb)


Transcript

Digital technologies—for the last 50 years in, really, right now—are not going on an S-curve. They are going in an exponential curve. Digitization impacts every program, every service and every job. We are in the digital age. That's what both makes it a bigger opportunity for government today, but also much more than an opportunity, an absolute necessity to move aggressively in this area.

It feels like a time at the moment, in the Canadian government, where we have a real opportunity to look at what we are doing now in Canada and say, how can we make this even better, even more quickly?

People work in an increasingly open cycle; we have an open system of innovation where several people can work together. In the digital world, geographic boundaries no longer apply.

The digital model is just, I think, a radically different way of thinking about operations and government in general. So, I think there are three major components to it: the digital model needs to be open; it needs to have applied learning, constantly learning; and it needs to be adaptive.

The combination of things that have happened so far puts us in a great position to move forward with the next steps. Canada is currently number two in the world in terms of the Open Data Barometer, which is a really fundamental foundation for how you move forward with digital government.

The things that I would really like us to focus on over the coming few years are how do we put the users of services at the heart of how they are developed, and then getting to a steady approach where we expect to be iterating and developing services constantly through their development. To enable that type of digital transformation to happen, to enable us to get to a position where we can measure the successful outcomes of services, we need to support that by a culture change which enables people to act in that way.

All the old conditions that existed in an analog world are disappearing or no longer exist in a digital world. So, if we're talking about what's different between them, we're really talking about a difference in human culture.

Absolutely, it requires a culture shift. This notion of having a digital mindset is probably the most important thing, and you're going to have a lot of people who are going to say, "We can't do that in government. We can't move forward in that way, that's not how we're set up. We can't, we can't, we can't." We just need a lot more people that are going to say, "No, we can!"

That culture shift can start in a lot of different places, but the place it has the most power is when it starts from the top.

So, if there are senior leaders who can show by example how we can change a culture, that is incredibly powerful, and it empowers people throughout an organization to do the same thing.

So, we need to embed a culture led from the most senior levels of government, which says, it is okay to be open. You are not going to build a successful digital service unless you go out there and you talk to your users about what that will look like.

Digitization does not necessarily mean that we're automating all of our processes. That said, there are a lot of advantages to automation. Of course, with automation, there are risks. However, today, there is as much of a risk that someone leaves a piece of paper with information on it on a park bench as there is in the digital world. Even if the government decides not to do it, there are still other sectors moving in that direction.

So, sometimes people are cynical about this current era of digital government that we're in; automation is one component of digital. But when you think about digital, you need to think about it in an explosion of certain technologies pulling together.

There is a change curve that continues to accelerate; it's very exponential. I think it's super exciting! The opportunity to collaborate is incredible, and essentially, it's what will allow us to further achieve our public service mandate.

People are civil servants and public servants because they want to do something that makes their country better, and we need to give people the tools to allow them to do that. Making services that work for everybody who use them is a really important part of what government does.

This is THE way to do things from now on. It is not just one of the ways! It is THE primary way.

There's always going to be a little bit of a gap because of lack of competitive pressures. What's important is for the government to be a fast follower in technology and not to be a laggard. We have to move forward to actually provide the kind of services that citizens are looking for.


Features

COVID19

Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Updates for employees on COVID-19, telework, advisories, messages and resources to share.
COVID-19: Learning resources

COVID-19: Learning resourcesNew

Learning resources to support public servants during the COVID‑19 pandemic.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:
Enter your email if you would like a reply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

La numérisation au gouvernement du Canada

La numérisation au gouvernement du Canada

Description : Pourquoi un modèle numérique performant pour le gouvernement canadien est-il une nécessité qui regorge d'opportunités intéressantes?

Date : 11 juin 2018

Durée : 00:04:46

Résolution : HD/720 (90.1 Mo)


Transcription

Les technologies numériques – qui existent vraiment depuis 50 ans – ne suivent pas une courbe en « s ». Elles suivent plutôt une courbe exponentielle. La numérisation a une incidence sur chaque programme, chaque service et chaque emploi. Nous sommes à l'ère numérique. C'est ce qui donne au gouvernement d'aujourd'hui une plus grande occasion, en fait, beaucoup plus qu'une occasion, mais plutôt une nécessité absolue d'intervenir activement dans ce domaine.

On dirait qu'il arrive un moment au gouvernement du Canada, où nous avons une occasion de jeter un regard sur ce que nous faisons au Canada et de nous demander comment nous pouvons y arriver encore mieux et plus rapidement.

Les gens travaillent dans un cycle ouvert, de plus en plus. Nous, on a un système d'innovation ouverte, où plusieurs gens peuvent collaborer ensemble. Dans le monde numérique, les frontières géographiques ne s'appliquent plus.

Le modèle numérique est simplement, je crois, une manière radicalement différente d'envisager les opérations au gouvernement du Canada, en général. Je dirais que cela comprend trois éléments principaux. Le modèle numérique doit être ouvert, comporter une formation appliquée (apprentissage continu) et il doit être souple.

La combinaison des choses qui se sont passées jusqu'à présent nous place dans une excellente position pour aller de l'avant avec les prochaines étapes. Le Canada se classe actuellement au deuxième rang mondial pour ce qui est du baromètre ouvert des données, qui constitue un fondement fondamental de la façon d'aller de l'avant avec le gouvernement numérique.

Les choses sur lesquelles j'aimerais vraiment que nous nous concentrions au cours des prochaines années sont les suivantes : comment mettre l'utilisation des services au cœur de leur conception, et ensuite parvenir à une approche stable où nous nous attendons à ce que les services soient itératifs et à ce qu'ils évoluent constamment pendant leur conception. Pour que ce type de transmission numérique puisse avoir lieu, pour nous permettre d'arriver au point où nous pouvons mesurer le succès des services, nous devons soutenir cela par un changement de culture qui permette aux gens d'agir de la façon voulue.

Toutes les vieilles conditions qui existaient dans un monde analogique existent de moins en moins ou n'existent déjà plus dans un monde numérique. Donc, si on parle d'une différence entre les deux, on parle vraiment d'une différence de culture humaine.

Absolument, cela exige un changement de culture. La notion d'avoir une mentalité numérique est probablement la chose la plus importante, et beaucoup de gens diront que nous ne pouvons pas faire cela au gouvernement. Nous ne pouvons pas aller de l'avant de cette façon, ce n'est pas comme cela que nous sommes organisés. Nous ne pouvons pas! Nous ne pouvons pas! Nous ne pouvons pas! Nous avons simplement besoin de beaucoup de gens qui diront : « Au contraire, nous pouvons! »

Ce changement de culture peut prendre naissance dans un grand nombre d'endroits différents, mais l'endroit où il a le plus de pouvoir, c'est quand il débute par le haut.

Donc, lorsque des cadres supérieurs peuvent prêcher par l'exemple comment nous pouvons changer une culture, ce qui est incroyablement puissant, cela donne aux gens de toute une organisation les moyens de faire la même chose.

Nous devons donc intégrer une culture dirigée par le plus haut niveau de gouvernement, qui dit qu'il est bien d'être ouvert. Vous n'allez pas construire un service numérique efficace, à moins que vous n'en discutiez avec vos utilisateurs.

La numérisation ne veut pas nécessairement ou forcément dire qu'on automatise tous nos processus. Ceci dit, il y a beaucoup d'avantages à faire l'automatisation. C'est certain qu'en automatisant, il y a des risques, mais il y a autant de risques aujourd'hui que quelqu'un prenne une pièce d'information papier et qu'il la laisse sur un banc quelque part dans un parc qu'il y en a dans le monde numérique. Puis, je dirais que si le gouvernement choisit de ne pas le faire, il y a d'autres secteurs qui s'en vont dans cette direction-là de toute façon.

Ainsi, il arrive parfois que les gens soient cyniques à l'égard de cette ère actuelle du gouvernement numérique dans laquelle nous vivons; l'automatisation est une composante du numérique. Mais quand on pense au numérique, il faut y penser sous l'angle de l'explosion de certaines technologies qui se conjuguent.

On a une courbe de changements qui continue à accélérer; c'est très exponentiel. Pour moi, c'est super excitant! L'opportunité de collaborer est incroyable, puis dans le fond, ça va nous permettre de réaliser notre mandat de fonctionnaire encore plus.

Les gens sont des fonctionnaires parce qu'ils veulent faire quelque chose qui améliore leur pays, et nous devons donner aux gens les outils dont ils ont besoin pour le faire. Il est très important pour le gouvernement de mettre en place des services qui fonctionnent pour tous ceux qui les utilisent.

C'est LA façon de faire les choses dorénavant. Ce n'est pas une des façons! C'est LA façon primaire.

Il y aura toujours un petit écart à cause de l'absence de pressions concurrentielles. Ce qui importe, c'est que le gouvernement soit un « suiveur empressé » en ce qui concerne la technologie, qu'il ne reste pas à la remorque. Nous devons aller de l'avant pour offrir les services que les citoyens recherchent.

En vedette

Remplissez le questionnaire du Recensement de 2021 dès aujourd'hui!

Aidez votre collectivité à prendre des décisions en éducation, transport, soins de santé, et services de logement.

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissageNouveau

Consultez les ressources d'apprentissage pour les fonctionnaires au courant de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire :

Date de modification :