Protection of Physical Safety

Description: A short video explaining the psychosocial factor Protection of Physical Safety. It explains that the physical workplace can not only affect our bodies but also our mental health. It includes concrete examples that an employer can implement to improve the physical workplace of employees.

Date: April 24, 2020

Duration: 00:04:20

Resolution: 1080p


Transcript

Think of your workplace. There are many parts of the physical work space that can impact you. There can be some more obvious hazards that are part of your job. Do you work with machinery? With chemicals? Do you work outdoors? There can also be parts of your physical work that may affect you over a long period of time that might be harder to see. Do you work with computers? Around a lot of noise? Do you sit for long periods of time?

The truth is that all workplaces have physical hazards. It's how workplaces are proactive to address physical hazards that help employees feel safe. Workplaces that do this well offer good protection of physical safety. When you think about it, your physical work space doesn't only affect your body, but it could also affect your mental health. Working in a noisy environment could not only affect your hearing, but also your focus. Working with angry clients could affect your mental energy. Working with chemicals or machinery requires you to be alert.

Let's meet Ayesha. Ayesha is a new employee at a manufacturing company. Ayesha has a lot of past experience working in manufacturing… the big change for her is that her new company uses different technology than what she's used to. Ayesha's supervisor puts her to work the first day, with a very short orientation session. Her supervisor thinks that because of her past experience Ayesha should know how to operate the heavy machinery and protect herself from harm and risks associated with them. This makes Ayesha feel stressed and anxious. This is really not a healthy OR safe situation for Ayesha and she feels like she is putting herself at-risk of harm. She is hesitant about speaking to her new boss about this as it is her first day on the job. How can workplaces make sure their employees feel protected from physical harm?

In Ayesha's case, her new company would benefit from a standardized orientation training process. This would ensure that employees are aware of all of the risks - physical and psychological -associated with their jobs. They would then know the proper process to raise concerns, as and if they come up. A standardized process also ensures that everyone is on the same page… that they have been given the same knowledge. This is useful to ensure consistent use of physical equipment. More importantly, it enhances employee safety and productivity. Supervisors also need to check in with workers to ensure that they understand and apply to their job what they learned during training.

Some training is now required by provincial, territorial, and/or federal laws. Companies can also provide training to their staff about how their physical work space can affect their mental health. Letting employees know how to report incidents, and also what supports are available if an incident does occur can be reassuring for staff.

Depending on the workplace, the tools and environment can be changed to reduce risks or manage hazards to the employees. This could be as simple as installing proper lighting, reducing noise, having panic alarms, or increased ventilation.

Although a lot of the responsibility around employee safety is on the employer, everyone should play a role in physical safety at work. Employees also have a responsibility. If you notice anything that can cause harm in your workplace, be sure to tell your supervisor. Also, if you don't feel safe doing something at work, let your boss know if you'd benefit from any additional training.

After watching this video, list three ways that your workplace helps keep you physically safe. What is one area that your workplace can improve on? Speak about it with your supervisor this week.

Protection of Physical Safety is one of 13 factors that support psychological health and safety in the workplace. Learn more at: MentalHealthCommission.ca/NationalStandard

For more resources for your workplace, check out haveTHATtalk.ca

Developed in collaboration by Ottawa Public Health and the Mental Health Commission of Canada.

With content adapted with permission from Mindful Employer Canada

And support from Bell Let's Talk.


Features

COVID19

Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Updates for employees on COVID-19, telework, advisories, messages and resources to share.
COVID-19: Learning resources

COVID-19: Learning resourcesNew

Learning resources to support public servants during the COVID‑19 pandemic.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:
Enter your email if you would like a reply:
Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Facteur psychosocial 13 : Protection de l'intégrité physique (WMT2-V24)

Description

Une courte vidéo qui explique le facteur psychosocial Protection de l'intégrité physique. Il explique que le milieu de travail physique peut affecter non seulement notre corps mais aussi notre santé mentale. Il inclut des exemples concrets qu'un employeur peut mettre en place afin d'améliorer le milieu de travail physique des employés.

Durée : 00:04:17
Publié : 24 avril 2020
Type : Vidéo


Lecture en cours

Facteur psychosocial 13 : Protection de l'intégrité physique

Transcription

Transcription

Transcription : Facteur psychosocial 13 : Protection de l'intégrité physique

Pensez à votre milieu de travail. Plusieurs aspects de l'espace de travail physique peuvent vous affecter. Et votre emploi peut aussi comporter des risques plus évidents.

Travaillez-vous avec de la machinerie?

Avec des produits chimiques?

Travaillez-vous à l'extérieur?

Certains aspects de votre travail physique qui sont moins évidents pourraient aussi avoir des effets à long terme sur vous. Travaillez-vous à l'ordinateur? Ou dans un endroit très bruyant? Êtes-vous assis longtemps?

En fait, tous les milieux de travail comportent des risques physiques. Ce sont les mesures que prennent les employeurs pour réduire ces risques qui aident les employés à se sentir en sécurité. Les employeurs qui le font bien offrent une bonne protection de l'intégrité physique. Au fond, votre espace de travail physique peut affecter non seulement votre corps, mais aussi votre santé mentale. Travailler dans un endroit bruyant pourrait non seulement endommager votre ouïe, mais aussi nuire à votre concentration. Travailler avec des clients fâchés pourrait drainer votre énergie mentale. Et travailler avec des produits chimiques ou de la machinerie demande de la vigilance.

Voici Ayesha. Elle est une nouvelle employée dans une entreprise de fabrication. Elle a beaucoup d'expérience dans le domaine. Le gros changement pour elle, c'est que son nouvel employeur utilise une technologie différente de ce qu'elle connaît. Le superviseur d'Ayesha lui donne du travail la première journée, après une courte séance d'orientation. Il pense que, compte tenu de son expérience, Ayesha devrait savoir comment utiliser la machinerie lourde et se protéger des blessures et des autres risques. Ayesha se sent stressée et anxieuse. Ce n'est vraiment pas une situation saine ou sécuritaire pour elle, et elle a l'impression qu'elle pourrait se blesser. Elle hésite à en parler à son nouveau patron, puisque c'est sa première journée. Comment les employeurs peuvent-ils s'assurer que leurs employés se sentent protégés contre les blessures?

Le nouvel employeur d'Ayesha aurait avantage à offrir une formation initiale normalisée. Il s'assurerait ainsi que les employés connaissent tous les risques - physiques et psychologiques - associés à leur travail. Les employés sauraient alors quoi faire pour soulever leurs inquiétudes sans tarder, au besoin. Une formation normalisée garantirait aussi que tout le monde est sur la même longueur d'onde et obtient la même information. Elle assurerait également une utilisation uniforme de l'équipement, et plus important encore, elle améliorerait la sécurité et la productivité des employés. Les superviseurs doivent aussi vérifier auprès des employés s'ils comprennent et appliquent ce qu'ils ont appris en formation.

Certaines formations sont maintenant exigées par des lois provinciales, territoriales ou fédérales. Les employeurs peuvent aussi donner une formation aux employés au sujet de l'effet de leur espace de travail physique sur leur santé mentale. Cela peut être rassurant pour le personnel de savoir comment signaler les incidents et quelles mesures de soutien sont offertes en cas d'incident.

Selon le lieu de travail, on peut changer les outils et l'environnement pour réduire ou gérer les risques pour les employés. Il suffit parfois d'installer un éclairage adéquat ou des alarmes de panique, de réduire le bruit, ou encore d'augmenter la ventilation.

Bien que l'employeur soit en grande partie responsable de la sécurité des employés, tout le monde devrait contribuer à la sécurité physique au travail. Les employés ont aussi une responsabilité. Si vous remarquez quelque chose qui pourrait causer des blessures au travail, dites-le à votre supérieur. De plus, si vous ne vous sentez pas en sécurité quand vous effectuez une tâche, dites à votre patron que vous auriez intérêt à suivre une formation supplémentaire.

Après avoir regardé cette vidéo, faites une liste de trois façons dont votre milieu de travail vous aide à vous protéger physiquement. Que serait-il bon d'améliorer? Parlez-en à votre supérieur cette semaine.

La protection de l'intégrité physique est l'un des 13 facteurs qui favorisent la santé et la sécurité psychologiques en milieu de travail.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez : Mentalhealthcommission.ca/Français/norme-nationale

Pour obtenir plus de ressources pour votre milieu de travail, visitez tempsDENparler

Préparé par Santé publique Ottawa avec la collaboration de la Commission de la santé mentale du Canada.

Comprend du contenu adapté avec la permission d'Employeur consciencieux Canada.

Et l'appui de Bell Cause pour la cause.

Liens connexes


Date de modification :