#GCMentalHealth: You Are Not Alone

#GCMentalHealth: You Are Not Alone

Description: Members of the Federal Speakers' Bureau on Healthy Workplaces discuss the benefits of talking openly about mental health and the importance of reaching out for help.

Produced by the Canada School of Public Service and the Centre of Expertise on Mental Health in the Workplace (Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat), in association with the Canadian Innovation Centre for Mental Health in the Workplace (Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada).

Date: October 23, 2019

Duration: 00:02:56

Resolution: 1080p


Transcript

[On-screen: #GCMentalHealth You Are Not Alone]

Jessica Ward-King, Free Agent, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat: I would say my life improved dramatically when I started talking about what I was going through and how I was feeling. When I started talking to myself, to my family, I promise you, ultimately, it is more helpful than the not talking.

Joshua Alcorn, COMES Custodian and Security Coordinator, Transport Canada: I've made use of a few resources that are out there for employees of the government such as the Employee Assistance Program and it's open to me any time, right, which is the great thing. And I don't have to wait to get into a state where I'm in dire need of help. If there is something that is just bugging me, I know I can pick up the phone and call EAP and get the help from a counsellor.

Les Escobar, Senior Program Advisor, Immigrant, Refugees and Citizenship Canada: I remember finishing work at 8 in the morning on a Saturday and getting home, and all my kids wanted to do was give Dad a hug. And I was so out of it that I misconstrued their wanting to give me a hug as them just annoying me. The affection is there, but it's a two-way street. So, the message I would give and that I've been starting to share is, you're not alone. You have people around you whether you think it or not.

SanDee Vandal, Manager, Employment and Social Development Canada: Being somebody who wore a lot of masks, and didn't know I wore a lot of masks, my suggestion to them would be to reach out, that they are not alone. It pains me when people suffer in silence, because from my own experience, I may not be able to take away your burdens, but when I share them with somebody else, they are so much lighter.

Neida Santini, Assistant Director, Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada: If you're struggling and you haven't reached out for help because you feel ashamed, because you don't know what to do, or because you simply are like me at the beginning, I didn't believe I had a problem. If you are in denial, all I'm going to say is: It's never too late, there's no timeline to get better. So, don't give up. Stay there, keep going, do your exercises if you're doing cognitive behavioural therapy. Focus on getting better and not in a selfish way, but self-care is important. Once you come out of that, you're going to be so happy that you took the time to take care of yourself.

[On-screen: Mental health starts here.]

Canada.ca/GCMentalHealth

[Canada wordmark]


Features

COVID19

Information for Government of Canada employees: Coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Updates for employees on COVID-19, telework, advisories, messages and resources to share.
COVID-19: Learning resources

COVID-19: Learning resourcesNew

Learning resources for public servants during the COVID-19 pandemic.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:
Enter your email if you would like a reply:
Date modified:

#SantéMentaleGC : Vous n'êtes pas seul

#SantéMentaleGC : Vous n'êtes pas seul

Description : Des membres du Bureau des conférenciers fédéraux pour des milieux de travail sains discutent des avantages de parler ouvertement de la santé mentale et de l'importance de demander de l'aide.

Produit par l'École de la fonction publique du Canada et le Centre d'expertise pour la santé mentale en milieu de travail (Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada), de concert avec le Centre canadien d'innovation pour la santé mentale en milieu de travail (Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada).

Date : Le 23 octobre 2019

Durée : 00:03:07

Résolution : 1080p


Transcription

[À l'écran : #SantéMentaleGC : Vous n'êtes pas seul]

Jessica Ward-King, Agente libre, Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada : Je dirais que ma vie s'est grandement améliorée quand j'ai commencé à parler de ce que je vivais et de ce que je ressentais. Quand j'ai commencé à me parler à moi-même, à parler à ma famille… Je vous assure qu'au bout du compte, la parole est plus utile que le silence.

Joshua Alcorn, Gardien de la SECOM/Coordonnateur de la sécurité, Transports Canada : Il y a toujours quelqu'un dans la salle qui souffre de quelque chose, puis qu'il a peut-être de la misère à demander de l'aide, mais le programme d'aide aux employés c'était phénoménal. Il y avait des moments que je n'étais pas trop sûr de ce qu'il se passait, je me sentais d'une certaine façon puis je me sentais pas bien. Je questionnais, est ce que c'est juste moi qui invente des choses ou est-ce que c'est vraiment quelque chose fondamental dans moi qui n'est pas correct. Alors, c'est sûr qu'en prenant le téléphone et en appelant le programme d'aide aux employés, j'ai pu avoir de l'information puis de l'aide à découvrir qu'est-ce qu'il se passait.

Les Escobar, Conseiller principal de programme, Immigration, Réfugiés and Citoyenneté Canada : Je me souviens d'un samedi matin où j'avais fini de travailler à 8 h. Je suis rentré à la maison, et tout ce que mes enfants voulaient, c'était de donner un câlin à Papa. J'étais tellement désorienté que je n'ai pas compris leur désir de me donner un câlin. Je les trouvais tout simplement dérangeants. L'affection est là, mais elle n'est pas un sens unique. Le message que je veux donner et que je commence à transmettre, c'est que vous n'êtes pas seuls. Il y a des personnes autour de vous, même si vous pensez le contraire.

SanDee Vandal, Gestionnaire, Emploi et Développement social Canada : Je trouve ça triste que les gens souffrent en silence, parce qu'il y a tellement d'emphase dans les médias sur la santé mentale, puis il faut qu'on commence à discuter de ça. C'est partout alentour de nous puis il faut enlever le stigma attaché à ça.

Neida Santini, Directrice adjointe, Immigration, Réfugiés and Citoyenneté : Alors si vous en arrachez et que vous n'êtes pas allés chercher de l'aide parce que vous avez honte ou que vous ne savez pas quoi faire. Ou si vous étiez simplement comme moi, au début, alors que je ne croyais pas avoir de problème. Si vous êtes dans le déni, je n'ai que ceci à vous dire : « Il n'est jamais trop tard. Il n'y a pas de date limite pour commencer à aller mieux. » Alors, n'abandonnez pas. Restez là, continuez. Faites vos exercices si vous faites de la thérapie cognitivo comportementale. Concentrez-vous sur votre rétablissement, il ne s'agit pas d'être égoïste, c'est important de s'occuper de soi. Quand vous en serez sortis, vous serez ravi d'avoir pris du temps pour vous.

[À l'écran : La santé mentale commence ici.]

Canada.ca/SanteMentaleGC

[Mot-symbole « Canada »]


En vedette

COVID19

Renseignements à l'intention des employés du gouvernement du Canada : maladie à coronavirus (COVID‑19)

Mise à jour à l'intention des employés sur COVID‑19, télétravail, avis, messages et ressources à partager.

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissage

COVID-19 : Ressources d'apprentissageNouveau

Ressources d'apprentissage pour soutenir les fonctionnaires au courant de la pandémie de COVID‑19.

Ce site web est continuellement mis à jour en fonction de vos commentaires.

Dites-nous ce que vous en pensez.
Sur quelle plateforme porte votre commentaire :
Veuillez entrer votre courriel si vous souhaitez une réponse :
Date de modification :