Language selection

Search

Promoting Inclusive Workplaces

This job aid will provide you with tips and tricks to help you promote and foster inclusive workplaces.

   Download as PDF (657 KB)  


A Practical Tool for All

An inclusive workplace is one that is fair, supportive and respectful. It recognizes, values and leverages differences in identity, ability, experience and perspective.

"Treating all people with respect, dignity and fairness is fundamental to our relationship with the Canadian public and contributes to a safe and healthy work environment that promotes engagement, openness and transparency. The diversity of our people and the ideas they generate are the source of our innovation."

Tips on Creating a Respectful and Inclusive Workplace

Be aware of your own unconscious biases: Building your own awareness is a first step towards real change. Be empathetic towards your colleagues. By listening to them and understanding their points of view, you become an effective ally in the workplace.

Create a safe space: Employees, including leaders, at all levels need to create a safe team environment where everyone's opinion is heard, considered and valued by the team. Simple things like acknowledging all religious holidays and demonstrating respect goes a long way.

Remove barriers: Barriers – physical, technological or social – prevent people from participating fully in a workplace and achieving their full potential. Physical barriers, like a conference room only being accessible by stairs, can be easy to spot. Social barriers like racism and discrimination, however, may require more awareness.

Flag microaggressions and discriminatory behaviours:  Should you see actions or behaviours that are discriminatory or harmful, stand up and say something. It's no longer enough not to discriminate in the workplace. You must practice anti-discrimination by ensuring you're advocating for everyone in your workplace.

Communicate and ask questions: It's okay not to know everything about diversity and inclusion. If you're not aware of something, ask questions so you can learn more. Misunderstanding can often lead to conflict, so maintaining strong communication is key.

Additional Resources

For more information on fostering a respectful and inclusive workplace, explore the Canada School of Public Service's learning catalogue on this subject.

Features

Complete your census today!

Help your community make choices about education, employment, transportation, health care and housing services.

COVID-19: Learning resourcesNew

Consult learning resources for public servants during the COVID-19 pandemic.

This website is continually being updated in response to your feedback.

Let us know what you think of it.
Which platform is your comment about:

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Outil de travail : Promouvoir des milieux de travail inclusifs

Description

Cet outil de travail présente des conseils pour aider à promouvoir et à favoriser des milieux de travail inclusifs.

Publié : 13 janvier 2021
Code : INC1-J06

Téléchargez en PDF (299 ko)


Promouvoir des milieux de travail inclusifs

Un outil pratique à l'usage de tous

Un milieu de travail qui est inclusif est équitable, accueillant et respectueux. Il reconnaît et met en valeur les différences sur les plans de l'identité, des habiletés, des expériences et des points de vue.

« Notre relation avec la population canadienne doit être empreinte de respect, de dignité et d'équité, valeurs qui contribuent à un milieu de travail sûr et sain, propice à l'engagement, à l'ouverture et à la transparence. Notre esprit d'innovation procède de la diversité de notre population et des idées qui en émanent. »

Conseils pour la création d'un milieu de travail respectueux et inclusif

Reconnaître ses propres préjugés inconscients : La prise de conscience constitue un premier pas vers un véritable changement. Faites preuve d'empathie envers vos collègues. Le fait d'écouter et de comprendre le point de vue des autres fait de vous un allié efficace dans le milieu de travail.

Créer un espace sécuritaire : Les employés, y compris les dirigeants, de tous les niveaux doivent créer un environnement sécuritaire pour leur équipe, où chacun est entendu et où toutes les opinions sont prises en compte et valorisées par l'équipe. De simples gestes comme reconnaître toutes les fêtes religieuses et assurer le respect de tous peuvent y contribuer.

Éliminer les obstacles : Certains obstacles – physiques, technologiques ou sociaux – peuvent empêcher des personnes de participer pleinement à leur milieu de travail et d'atteindre leur plein potentiel. Il est généralement plus facile de repérer les obstacles physiques, comme une pièce qui n'est accessible que par les escaliers, mais les obstacles sociaux comme le racisme et la discrimination peuvent nécessiter plus de sensibilisation.

Dénoncer les microagressions et les comportements discriminatoires : Si vous êtes témoin de comportements ou d'actions discriminatoires, il est primordial que vous preniez position et que vous les dénonciez. Simplement ne pas faire de discrimination sur le lieu de travail ne suffit plus. Vous devez lutter contre la discrimination en défendant les intérêts de toutes les personnes qui partagent votre lieu de travail.

Communiquer et poser des questions : Il est normal de ne pas tout savoir sur la diversité et l'inclusion. Vous devriez toutefois poser des questions pour en apprendre davantage. Bien souvent, les malentendus provoquent des conflits; c'est pourquoi il est essentiel de maintenir une bonne communication.

Ressources supplémentaires

Pour plus d'information sur la promotion d'un milieu de travail respectueux et inclusif, consultez le catalogue d'apprentissage de l'École de la fonction publique du Canada qui traite de ce sujet.


Date de modification :