Language selection

Search

New Directors Program

The New Directors Program (NDP) provides an opportunity for new executives to better understand their role as a director within the Government of Canada. The program's aim is to equip new executives with the skills they need to effectively lead in today's work environment.

On this page

About the program

The New Directors Program is being offered exclusively as a virtual edition.

The New Directors Program provides an opportunity for new executives to better understand their role as a director within the Government of Canada. The program's aim is to equip new executives with the skills they need to effectively lead in today's work environment. Participants will explore a variety of leadership topics to help them navigate complexities, be resilient and adaptable in times of change, and enhance their key leadership competencies as a new executive.

Topics include:

  • understanding the director's role in modern government systems and processes, including the new digital standards and what is required to lead into the future
  • strengthening self-awareness and the skills to build resilience, lead, engage and collaborate
  • exploring the director's role in creating a diverse, inclusive and respectful workplace
  • developing leadership agility and capacity to navigate complexity

The New Directors Program is cohort-based and comprised of eight modules and two events, taking place over a period up to three months. These modules include virtual learning sessions, independent and group work, pre-course work, a psychometric self-assessment, and participation in a 360-degree feedback process. Throughout the program, participants will also engage in peer coaching sessions and leadership group discussions.

Timeline

Weeks 1 to 4: The Director in You

This block is focused on inward leadership, self-reflection, and the unique competencies participants bring to the role of an executive. Participants will learn more about the realities of the executive role and explore how their personal preferences affect their leadership style. Participants will also assess their own capacity for resilience and identify strategies to manage the stress and expectations associated with their new role. Finally, participants will apply peer coaching techniques to gain new perspectives on challenges they may be facing in their role as director.

  • Module 1: Insights into the Executive Cadre
  • Module 2: Stress Management and Resiliency
  • Module 3: Coaching and Leadership
  • Module 4: Peer Coaching
Weeks 5 to 9: The Director in the Organization

This block focuses on drawing out the skills of an executive and preparing them to lead into the future. Participants will continue to develop their key leadership competencies with a focus on the human element of leadership and being an agile and inclusive leader. Participants will also explore pressing issues that will shape Canada into the future and the leadership competencies required to address them head on.

  • Module 5: Strategic Management
  • Module 6: Inclusive Leadership
  • Module 7: Leading with Agility
  • Event 1: Indigenous Leadership Teachings
  • Event 2: Leading into the Future
Week 10: Program Closing

During the final module of the program, learners will share their leadership reflection and conclude the program.

  • Module 8: Continuing the Journey

360° feedback assessment

The Public Service Commission's Personnel Psychology Centre (PPC) offers a 360° feedback tool that presents a unique opportunity for personal development and self-reflection through meaningful insight into how others perceive your leadership competencies, and how these perceptions compare to your own self-perception.

Each participant of the New Director's Program will be given the opportunity to complete the PPC's 360° feedback assessment. The 360° debriefs will begin during the program and may continue post-program depending on availability and scheduling compatibilities.

Learn more about the PPC's 360° feedback instruments and services.

Eligibility

To qualify, participants must either:

  • occupy a director position (EX-01 or equivalent) and have less than 18 months' experience
  • be acting in a director position for a minimum of 6 months

How to register

If you are an eligible participant for the New Directors Program, please contact your departmental mandatory training coordinator to request information on the process to reserve a spot in an upcoming cohort for the September 2022 to March 2023 program.


Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Programme à l'intention des nouveaux directeurs

Le Programme à l'intention des nouveaux directeurs fonctionne par cohorte et comprend huit modules et deux événements sur une période maximale de trois mois.

Sur cette page

À propos du Programme

Le contenu du Programme à l'intention des nouveaux directeurs est offert exclusivement sur une plateforme virtuelle.

Le Programme à l'intention des nouveaux directeurs permet aux nouveaux cadres de mieux comprendre leur rôle de directeur au sein du gouvernement du Canada. Il vise à doter les nouveaux cadres des compétences dont ils ont besoin pour diriger efficacement dans l'environnement de travail actuel. Les participants exploreront différents sujets en lien avec le leadership pour les aider à évoluer malgré les complications, à faire preuve de résilience et de souplesse en période de changement et à accroître leurs compétences clés en matière de leadership en tant que nouveau cadre.

Sujets traités :

  • comprendre le rôle du directeur au sein des processus et des systèmes modernes en place au gouvernement, notamment les nouvelles normes numériques et les éléments nécessaires pour diriger dans l'avenir;
  • améliorer la connaissance de soi et les compétences nécessaires pour renforcer la résilience, diriger, mobiliser et collaborer;
  • explorer le rôle du directeur dans la création d'un milieu de travail diversifié, inclusif et respectueux;
  • développer l'agilité du leadership et la capacité d'évoluer malgré les complications.

Le Programme à l'intention des nouveaux directeurs fonctionne par cohorte et comprend huit modules et deux événements maximale sur une période de trois mois. Ces modules comprennent des séances d'apprentissage virtuel, du travail individuel et en équipe,des travaux préparatoires, une autoévaluation psychométrique et la participation à un processus de rétroaction 360°. Des séances de coaching par les pairs et des discussions de groupe sur le leadership seront également offertes aux participants dans le cadre du Programme.

Déroulement du Programme

Semaines 1 à 4 : Le directeur en vous

Ce bloc porte principalement sur le leadership interne, l'autoréflexion et les compétences uniques apportées par les participants au rôle d'un cadre. Les participants découvriront les réalités du rôle d'un cadre et ils exploreront les effets de leurs préférences personnelles sur leur style de leadership. Les participants évalueront également leur propre capacité à faire preuve de résilience et à trouver des stratégies pour gérer le stress et les attentes associés à leur nouveau rôle. Enfin, les participants appliqueront des techniques de coaching par les pairs pour acquérir de nouvelles perspectives sur les défis auxquels ils peuvent être confrontés dans leur rôle de directeur.

  • Module 1 : Aperçu du rôle du personnel cadre
  • Module 2 : Gestion du stress et résilience
  • Module 3 : Coaching et leadership
  • Module 4 : Coaching par les pairs
Semaines 5 à 9 : Le directeur au sein de l'organisation

Ce bloc vise à faire appel aux compétences des cadres et à les préparer à diriger dans l'avenir. Les participants continueront à perfectionner leurs compétences clés en leadership en privilégiant l'aspect humain du leadership ainsi qu'à être des leaders agiles et inclusifs. Les participants examineront également des questions urgentes qui façonneront le Canada de l'avenir et les compétences en leadership requises pour les aborder de front.

  • Module 5 : Gestion stratégique
  • Module 6 : Leadership inclusif
  • Module 7 : Leadership agile
  • Événement 1 : Enseignements tirés du leadership autochtone
  • Événement 2 : Diriger dans l'avenir
Semaine 10 : Fin du programme

Au cours du dernier module du programme, les apprenants feront part de leur réflexion sur le leadership et termineront le programme.

  • Module 8 : Poursuivre son parcours

La rétroaction 360°

L'outil de rétroaction 360° du Centre de psychologie du personnel (CPP) de la Commission de la fonction publique offre des possibilités exceptionnelles de perfectionnement personnel et d'autoréflexion. Cet outil fournit des perspectives enrichissantes sur la manière dont les autres perçoivent vos compétences en matière de leadership et la façon dont ces perceptions se comparent aux vôtres.

Chaque participant au Programme à l'intention des nouveaux directeurs aura l'occasion de réaliser l'évaluation de rétroaction 360°. Les comptes rendus commenceront en cours de programme et pourraient se poursuivre une fois votre programme terminé, selon la disponibilité et la compatibilité des horaires.

En savoir plus sur les Instruments et services de rétroaction 360° du CPP.

Admissibilité

Pour être admissible, vous devez remplir l'un des critères suivants :

  • occuper un poste de directeur (niveau EX 01 ou équivalent) et cumuler moins de 18 mois d'expérience;
  • occuper par intérim un poste de directeur pendant un minimum de six mois.

Comment s'inscrire

Les personnes admissibles au Programme l'intention des nouveaux directeurs peuvent communiquer avec le coordonnateur ou la coordonnatrice de la formation obligatoire de leur organisation pour savoir comment réserver leur place dans une des cohortes qui seront formées entre septembre 2022 et mars 2023.


Date de modification :