Language selection


National AccessAbility Week – Disability Inclusion 2021: Leaving No One Behind - Program

June 1, 2021 | 11:00 am to 4:00 pm (ET)

11:00 am – 11:03 am
Giuseppina (Pina) D'Intino, Accessibility Strategist and Project Lead, Statistics Canada
11:03 am – 11:15 am

Thanksgiving Address
Lee Seto-Thomas, Director, Workplace Well-Being and Elders' Circle, Canadian Heritage

11:15 am – 11:25 am

Opening Remarks
Yazmine Laroche, Deputy Minister, Office of Public Service Accessibility, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat

11:25 am – 12:00 pm

Working Together to Build an Inclusive Canada for Persons with Disabilities


Taki Sarantakis, President, Canada School of Public Service


  • Graham Flack, Deputy Minister, Employment and Social Development Canada
  • Gina Wilson, Deputy Minister, Diversity and Inclusion and Youth
  • Guylaine Roy, Deputy Minister for Women and Gender Equality
12:00 pm – 12:30 pm

Health Break

12:30 pm – 1:05 pm

Propeller Dance: Recorded performance of CIRCUIT, an upbeat dance film creation.

1:05 pm – 1:30 pm

How to be an Ally to the Disability Community

  • Maayan Ziv, Founder and CEO, AccessNow
  • Giuseppina (Pina) D'Intino, Accessibility Strategist and Project Lead, Statistics Canada
1:30 pm – 2:00 pm

You Can't Ask That


Rachel Boutin, Senior Advisor Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion and Official Languages, National Research Council Canada


  • Carissa Ouellette, Technical Officer, National Research Council Canada
  • Raphaël Solomon, Economic Expert, Copyright Board of Canada
  • Marie-Jeanne Nahas, Human Resources Advisor, Public Service Commission
  • Angèle Charlebois, Business analyst and Team Leader, IT Accessibility, Employment and Social Development Canada
2:00 pm – 2:30 pm

Health Break

2:30 pm – 3:15 pm

Removing Barriers to Accessibility Through an Intersectional Lens and Allyship


Trudy Samuel, Senior Director, Office for Equity, Diversity and Inclusion, Natural Resources Canada


  • John Ward, PhD Candidate; Project Officer, Indigenous Science Liaison Office, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada Interdepartmental Indigenous STEM Cluster
  • Syrus Marcus Ware, Vanier Scholar, visual artist, community activist, researcher, youth advocate and educator
  • Rosalie McGrath, Accessibility Analyst, Recruitment and Development Division, Statistics Canada
3:15 pm – 3:25 pm

Janice Charette, Interim Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet, Privy Council Office

3:25 pm – 3:30 pm

Closing Remarks
Giuseppina (Pina) D'Intino, Accessibility Strategist and Project Lead, Statistics Canada

3:30 pm – 3:40 pm

Closing Event
Lee Seto-Thomas, Director, Knowledge Circle for Indigenous Inclusion, Canadian Heritage

Date modified: