Language selection


The Future of Public Sector Management: Equipping Institutions to Better Manage Challenges


In partnership with the Canadian Association of Programs in Public Administration, this event brings together academic thought leaders and public servants to discuss, learn and build new practices in public administration. Leading academics and senior leaders will host engaging discussions as they unpack the policy lens from both an external and internal perspective.

The panel will explore questions around disruptive forces, policy prioritization, lesson retention, internal accountability, service delivery, and diversity and inclusion, among other topics. Participants will have the opportunity to join in on the discussion, add to their own toolkit, and learn how to apply current research to their practice.

Opening plenary

  • Brooke Jeffrey, President, Canadian Association of Programs in Public Administration
  • The Honourable Jocelyne Bourgon, PC OC, former Clerk of the Privy Council and Secretary to the Cabinet, Founding President, Public Governance International, and President Emerita, Canada School of Public Service
  • Michael Keenan, Deputy Minister, Transport Canada
  • Taki Sarantakis, President, Canada School of Public Service
  • Al Roberts, Professor and Director, School of Public Policy, University of Massachusetts Amherst

Session 1


Rachel Zellars, Jocelyne Bourgon Visiting Scholar at the Canada School of Public Service, and Assistant Professor at the Department of Social Justice & Community Studies, Saint Mary's University


  • Yazmine Laroche, Deputy Minister, Office of Public Service Accessibility, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat
  • Mary-Luisa Kapelas, Assistant Deputy Minister, Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada
  • Tamara Thermitus, Visiting Researcher at McGill Centre for Human Rights and Legal Pluralism, and former employee of the Department of Justice Canada, and Chief Negotiator for Truth and Reconciliation Commission

Session 2


Nicholas Chesterley, Director, Strategic Policy, Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat


  • Amanda Clarke, Associate Professor, School of Public Policy and Administration, Carleton University
  • Sarah Paquet, Director and Chief Executive Officer, Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada
  • Tim Pettipas, Assistant Secretary to the Cabinet, Public Service Renewal, Privy Council Office
  • Susan Phillips, Professor and Graduate Supervisor, Philanthropy and Nonprofit Leadership, Carleton University

Closing remarks

  • Ian Stewart, Associate Professor of Humanities, History of Science and Technology Program, University of King's College, Halifax
  • Neil Bouwer, Vice-President, Innovation and Policy Services Branch, Canada School of Public Service
  • Evert Lindquist, Professor, School of Public Administration, University of Victoria
  • Philippe Lagassé, Associate Professor, The Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University
  • Kathy Brock, Professor, School of Policy Studies, Queen's University
  • Genevieve Tellier, Professor, School of Political Studies, University of Ottawa
  • Mark Schaan, Associate Assistant Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada
  • Ursula Gobel, Vice-President, Stakeholder Engagement and Advancement of Society, Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada

Date modified: